The Orryn Novellas

The Orryn Novellas are a series of shorter stories set in a fictional dystopian world called The Following, in which a large, powerful entity has (more or less) complete social, economic, military and religious power over planet Earth. The books explore issues of family, trauma, memories and identity.

To see the Content Notes for all the books in this series, click here.

Going Home (Book #1)


Orryn ran away from home as a young teenager. After years spent trying to forget, she is forced to face the memories she’s been hiding from.
Thea never understood why her sister left. Her childhood was happy and she lives her adult life surrounded by people she loves, but she never stopped wondering.
When the two sisters meet again, a struggle to mend the bond they once shared, and reconcile their differing memories of their childhood, begins.

In a world where blending in is valued above everything else, scars can be a dangerous thing to show. After years of drifting and hiding, Orryn returns to her homeland and must choose between baring her scars and losing her sister a second time.

Going Home, the first book in the Orryn novella series, was Emma’s debut novella and first self-published book. It was released on 11/12-2014. You can read excerpts from it here and here.


You can buy Going Home in the following places:

download imagessmashwords-100w
images (1)imagesdownload (1)


“One of the things I loved about Lindhagen’s novella is the word building behind the tale.[…] In this novella, this world flows seamlessly with the lives of Orryn and Thea.  You never forget that the central point of this novella is the relationship between Orryn and Thea; however, you also never forget that they live in a different world with strict rules and where anyone deemed different will have to continually look over their shoulder.  The world Lindhagen creates is scary and troubling, and the readers are left as equally interested in the dystopian world as they are in the reasoning behind Orryn’s disappearance from her family.” – Love Books and Blush

Dress Rehearsal Rag (Book #2)

Orryn has a room of her own, a part-time job and, for the first time in her adult life, real friends. If not for her sister’s constant attempts to get her to spend time with her newborn nephew and her new roommate William’s unsettlingly pleasant company, she would be quite at peace. When wardens, officers of the dreaded morality police, arrive in their rural neighborhood for a surprise inspection, the entire group is reminded that their safe haven isn’t as safe as they’d like to believe.

“Dress Rehearsal Rag” is the sequel to “Going Home” and continues to tell the story of Orryn and the others’ life at the commune.

Dress Rehearsal Rag is the second book in the Orryn novella series and was published in June 2015. You can read an excerpt from it here.


You can buy Dress Rehearsal Rag in the following places:

download imagessmashwords-100w

images (1)imagesdownload (1)


Undertow (Book #3)

Orryn has spent her whole life running: from her parents, from lovers, from debts and unpaid bills. Running has kept her alive. Running has kept her alone.

She told herself she wouldn’t do it this time. That she owed it to her sister to not just disappear again. But she never meant to end up here, in a community too warm and too kind for someone like her, where William’s love is so pure it could suffocate her, and Miranda’s eyes call to her with an intensity that could tear both hearts and marriages apart. She never meant for these people to look at her with love or expectations. 

Orryn has spent her whole life running. But when she sees the end coming from far away, can she hold back the impulse to cut and run, collect her things calmly and simply go?

Undertow is the third book in the Orryn Novella series but can also be read as a stand-alone. 


You can buy Dress Rehearsal Rag in the following places:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *